A Look at Last Years Most Popular Worship Song

Posted: February 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

One of the things that I regularly try to do is actually look at the lyrics of the worship songs we sing. Oftentimes a song can have such a catchy tune or a moving rhythm that we ignore what we are actually singing. Many times there are songs that are extremely popular for the younger generation that I struggle to put in a song set because I feel like it could double as a love song for your girlfriend. Many times I struggle with songs that are all cotton candy and fluff without any theological meat on its bones. And many times when I voice my thoughts on these things, I get an eye roll or two from those who think I’m just overthinking things andĀ stifling their ability to worship to their favorite song.

Here is a link to an evaluation of last years most popular worship song, 10,000 Reasons by Matt Redman. This is a song I have sung and I have led many times this year and I appreciate the insight to be gained from this article. Check it out.

http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/trevinwax/2014/02/12/a-deeper-look-at-the-most-popular-worship-song-of-2013/

Leave a Reply

