The Demands of Jesus

Posted: March 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

In the song “The Wonderful Cross” by Isaac Watts, the last verse says,

                Were the whole realm of nature mine, that were an offering far too small

                Love so amazing so divine, demands my soul, my life, my all

My soul, my life, my all, really? I grew up hearing the message of God’s love and grace and forgiveness as my Savior, but rarely was exposed to the demands Jesus places on our lives as his followers. A quick walk through the gospel shows Jesus saying some outlandish things about our commitment to him above all other things. When we hear this it is common to get uncomfortable and question if that is legit. In this video, spoken word artist Jefferson Bethke explains how Jesus is the only thing in our lives that demand everything that we get upset about. Check it out.

)

Leave a Reply

