Don’t Waste Your Summer

Posted: April 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

With May upon us and the weather warming, it is almost time for barbecue’s, trips to the lake, vacations, summer camps, and busyness. When I was growing up, baseball was the king of my summer, carrying me all over the state for tournaments and keeping me at the ball field daily for practices. I had a nice healthy routine as a middle and high schooler of playing baseball in the afternoon and evenings before coming home and playing video games (or hanging out with friends) until 2 or 3 a.m. Going to bed so late (or technically early) in the morning each day naturally led to my normally not waking up before noon, eating some pizza rolls while vegging out in front of the television for a few hours and making sure I was ready for baseball the next day. A productive and healthy summer this was not and I distinctly remember each year that the week before school started thinking, “where did the summer go?”

Ever since I became a believer as a senior in high school my goal has been to not waste my summer and to not let good intentions remain good intentions. As we near the summer months I would encourage you to make a plan for your Bible reading, spiritual disciplines, and family devotions (and family time for that matter). Whether you are a student, parent, youth leader, grandparent, ball player, or pastor, don’t waste these valuable months of the year.

In the link below, there is a compilation of a ton of blogs addressed specifically with ideas for how to not waste your summer. It is worth a look so check it out at: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/trevinwax/2013/05/30/dont-waste-your-summer/.

Leave a Reply

