Making Friends But Not Disciples

Posted: May 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

untitled (3)“Let’s go witnessing door to door,” is one of those invitations that has always made me feel uncomfortable and guilty. It makes me feel uncomfortable because when people come to my door to sell things I try to close the blinds and hide and I don’t want to be that person. It makes me feel guilty because in answering “no” to this invitation it seems as if you’re saying, “Yeah, that Great Commission thing, I’m not really that into that.” Now I know that in going door to door, we aren’t selling a product in the same way that the person selling home security systems or girl scout cookies is. And I know that even if we do this wearing a short sleeve button up and tie while riding a bike with our helmet, and appear to be a Mormon, we still aren’t “selling” the same thing. We are, in fact, talking about offering the gospel of grace, the greatest news ever, the supreme satisfaction that is the true treasure to people who are in desperate need of it. But…..the idea of going up to complete strangers to talk about our faith and appearing to be a fanatical religious nut still isn’t high on my “things to do when I have some down time” list. I think part of this stems from a constant battle with the idol of the approval of man in my life and part of it is because it is, in fact, awkward and uncomfortable.

And so when I hear that “relational evangelism” is a more biblical, and I am afforded the opportunity to share the gospel after building a relationship with someone, it is a like a breath of fresh air. I think to myself, “now I can do that.” And yet as I affirm this method as a good one, often the relief that it affords me is because it means I can share the gospel on my timeline and when I’m comfortable. But let me tell you something I’ve learned. There’s no way to make bringing up your faith in a Jewish carpenter from 2000 years ago who was the Son of God and died and was raised again to save you from the judgment of God you deserve naturally. At some point it’s going to be awkward. If it’s not then you’re probably not doing it right.

In this article, Trevin Wax gives a charge to those of us who love relational evangelism, but tend to focus more on the friendship and less on making disciples. I think he is exactly right in what he says here. Check it out at: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/trevinwax/2014/05/26/making-friends-but-not-disciples/.

Leave a Reply

