I’ll Never Take You Shopping Again

Posted: September 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

This week in the marriage class I am facilitating, we were challenged with a call to go after our children’s hearts instead of merely pursuing behavior modification. Paul Tripp explained in this video series that trying to get instant obedience might work in the short term but it won’t produce any lasting change because lasting change only goes through the heart. Whenever we threaten, manipulate, or guilt our children into obedience we are avoiding the hard but needed heart work we are called to. This is a very challenging and sobering truth that has convicted me greatly as I think about my parenting. As I came across this article this week, I found myself relating to this mother and how she handled her child in a public setting without dealing with her heart. But I also see the hope found in the cross of Christ that is offered to rebellious children and inconvenienced and embarrassed parents. Check it out by following this link: I’ll Never Take You Shopping Again

Leave a Reply

