Our Parenting Teaches Us To Be Better Children of God

Posted: November 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

There are times when one (or all) of my children will annoy me. Typically this scenario plays out when I am making rest and relaxation an idol and it is taken away from me by a whining little girl who is fussing about everything. Occasionally it plays out when I tell one of my kids to “stop doing ________!” for the 1000th time. I think to myself of how astounding it is that this hasn’t stuck in their head yet after me telling them over and over and over!

And then God reminds me that He does the same thing with me. All day every day. Seeing the neediness and rebellion and selfishness of my children has forced me to look in the mirror almost daily and remember that I’m no different. When I get so angry over little things my kids do that are getting under my skin, it reminds me of the grace of God that He has shown to me, an undeserving sinner.

I believe that becoming a parent has been one of the most sanctifying things in my life. Just as I didn’t realize how selfish I was until I had to share space with my wife when we got married, I didn’t realize how rebellious I was until I look into the eyes of my toddler telling me know or doing what I’ve told them not to again and being in need of discipline.

I believe that being a parent teaches us to be better children of God and this article explains some of the ways this is true: http://www.thegospelcoalition.org/article/parenting-teaches-us-to-be-better-children-god

Leave a Reply

